Eurovision 2009-Ones To Watch

Although Ireland failed to qualify for the final this year I will still be contently watching the show in Moscow tonight. To me it seems like the competition is wide open this year and there are a number of contries in with a chance of taking the eurovision crown. With there beign so many entries I like this year I have decided to pick the Five outside bets that could be dark horses in tonights final. I am not going to pick from the top favourites as I feel that most people will have heard enough about these songs already!! I will post their current odds according to Paddy Power also. Now im not a betting man but if I was I would certainly put some money down on one or two of these entries!!

In No Particular Order:

1. Iceland: This was one of the stand out performances in the Semi-Final 1 on Tuesday night for me and could be in with a chance of a high finish provided voting goes their way. The song is called “Is It True” and it is sung by 18 year old Yohanna. Odds To Win: 18/1

Watch her Semi-final Performance HERE

2. Germany: I have only heard little clips of the German “Miss Kiss Kiss Bang” song live  as yet but from what I gather, this is a great swing tune with loads of soul and attitude. Famous American Burlesque dancer Dita Von Teese who is the former wife of singer Marilyn Manson has been added to their performance which is sure to generate great attention. The song performers are Alex Swings Oscar Sings!

Dita Von Teese

Dita Von Teese

Odds To Win: 40/1

Watch the Music Video to “Miss Kiss Kiss Bang” HERE. I Love This Song!!

3.Portugal: Their entry this year is entitled “Todas As Ruas Do Amor” (All The Streets Of Love) and is sung by Flor-de-Lis. I think that this is a vert sweet and simple feel good song and I like the fact that it is in the countries native tongue, Portuguese. Many countries sing in English these days which I feel is not in the true spirit of Eurovision.

Odds To Win: 80/1

Watch Flor-de-Lis’ Semi Final performance HERE. The stage backdrop was amazing!

4.Lithuania: have placed their hopes of winning in the hands of 25 year old singer “Sasha Son” with the song “Love”. I wasnt sure of this song on the semi final night but after listening to it again I really like it. Sasha also plays the piano in this slow ballad type song. Lithuania have very long odds to win and they may be at a slight disadvantage as they are first to perform tonight. I hope that with the help of the jury voting they will break into the top 10.

Odds To Win: 100/1

Watch Lithuana’s performance in the Semi final HERE. His final flourish is a bit over-dramatic though!

5. Armenia: Their entry this year is a fun song “Jan Jan” which is performed by the sister act Inga and Anush who seem to be Armenia’s answer to the Cheeky Girls. I really like the Eastern sound to this sound and think that it is extremely catchy. The stage performance is also great to watch!!

Odds To Win: 40/1

Watch Armenia’s semi-final Performance HERE

So there you have it, these are my tips on the acts to look out for in the show tonight. Knowing my luck they will probably rank nowhere in the final results. Hopefully we will see a surprise and one of these acts will win!

SEE ALSO: EUROVISION MERORIES

To See the running order of tonight’s show and also a review of some other acts visit stephenspillane.com

~ by slayton491 on May 16, 2009.

9 Responses to “Eurovision 2009-Ones To Watch”

  1. where’s romania?

    • Its a good song and should do well but its not one of my favourites. thanks for the comment

  2. […] Sean has also listed who to watch on his blog. […]

  3. I think Ukraine or Turkey will win. I agree that Armenia and Iceland have a good chance. However, though I like the Portugal song, I don’t think it will do well because it is soft and because of Portugal’s geographic position. They didn’t do well last year, despite producing one of the best entries.

    • thank you very much fo you comment:)
      yes unfortunately geography is now playing a pivotal part in determining the winner and it is not the best song that usually wins. what did you thunk of Irelands entry this year??

  4. Ireland was amazing.. Don’t know how it didn’t gain the votes anyway Ireland won 7 times Eurovision and I think is better for the countries that never won it to taste the host role.

    I like Albania and Iceland and wish them a good luck!

    • Ya I agree that Ireland definitely deserved a place in the final this year. It is very disappointing for the acts that are knocked out at the semi final stage after all the time and effort put in by all!

  5. […] SEE ALSO: EUROVISION 2009 […]

  6. […] SEE ALSO: EUROVISION 2009 PREDICTIONS […]

Leave a Reply

 
